Salad From My Garden in November

Today, 5 November, I harvested vegetables and herbs from my garden for a salad.  That is pretty remarkable in my zone 6 garden.
My salad contained home grown kale, beet greens, chard, lovage, green onions, miner’s lettuce, dandelion leaves, and most amazing – currant tomatoes.
This is the first year I have grown currant tomatoes.  The flavor was fine though not spectacular.  Due to their small size you have to pick many for them to be usable so I had not planned to grow them again. The weather has been cool enough that larger tomatoes struggle to ripen.  The currants have continued to ripen though more slowly.  I lost some squash to a freeze a couple weeks ago but everything else – including peppers and tomatoes – are still alive.
The cool season plants are doing great.  It will be interesting to see how long I will be able to harvest this year.  Maybe I will contribute a homegrown green salad to Thanksgiving dinner at my brother’s house.

About Beuna, Garden Inspire

As a garden coach, Beuna Tomalino has had the opportunity to help others grow their own food organically. Educated in Ornamental Horticultural from Utah State University and self taught in organic methods and multiple methods of gardening she helps others grow food no matter where they live. Beuna recently released the book Herbs to Know 2: Wild Medicinal & Edible Plants which she co authored with Kathy Wilson, Master Herbalist.

Posted on November 5, 2010, in Foraging, lovage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Have so loved the warm Autumn… change is really coming this week I fear. We've harvested almost all, noticed there are still strawberries to pick. Can you believe in November?

Leave a Reply

